2020­-2021 AASPA Award Nominations

Posted By: Sandy Wachter, CMP AASPA Blog,

A2020­-2021 AASPA Award Nominations

Nominate your colleagues, districts and affiliates for international recognition through AASPA! You can nominate individuals, districts or affiliates. Self nomination and nomination of colleages is encouraged. In a year when so many individuals and districts steped up to do amazing things, help us recognize the wonderful work of human capital leadership in education.

Nominations are due by May 1, 2021, and the winners will be announced at the 83rd Annual Conference in Washington, DC in October 2021. Click on each award to be directed to the rubric and application or go to: https://www.aaspa.org/awards-and-recognitions- for more information.

Individual Awards


The Herb Salinger Personnel Administrator of the Year Award is given to an active member of AASPA who has at the local, state/province, national, and/or international level, distinguished him/herself in personnel administration; is involved and a contributing participant in personnel functions and/or programs; whose contributions have had a significant impact on public education; is a skilled manager of change and is creative in his/her approach to personnel administration; approached personnel administrative work with a sense of humor and sense of respect for his/her fellow person. The nominee must be an active AASPA member and currently serving in a personnel administrative position. Please note nominations for this award require use of nomination form along with three letters of reference.


This award is given in honor of Raymond E. Curry, who served as Executive Director of AASPA from 1986 – 1991. It recognizes his encouragement and contribution to the establishment of a successful Professional Development Program for the Association. The Raymond E. Curry Award is a competitive award granted to an AASPA member who is currently enrolled at an accredited university doing graduate-level research in the area of Human Resource Management or Educational Leadership with a focus on Human Resources. Candidates are considered on the basis of how their research will impact the field of Human Resources. The winner will be expected to present his/her research at the next AASPA Annual Conference. One year of AASPA membership and full conference registration fees (excluding pre-conference, event tickets, transportation and lodging) will be awarded to the recipient of the Raymond E. Curry Award.


Honorary membership is granted for a lifetime to person(s) who have distinguished themselves in school personnel work by making outstanding contributions to AASPA and/or school personnel administration. Honorary members shall be entitled to participate in all activities of AASPA, except voting and holding elective offices. They are also exempt from payment of membership dues, and the Annual Conference registration fees (exclusive of meals, pre-conference, event tickets, transportation and lodging). Please fill out the nomination form, the supplemental application form and include a current resume of the nominee. The honorary membership is granted for a lifetime. Non‐members (at the time of nomination) or Retirees who have made an outstanding contribution to AASPA and/or school personnel administration are eligible for honorary membership.


Special Recognition Awards are presented to individuals who have made substantial contributions to AASPA, advancing or enhancing the professional visibility of the association and its purposes and/or the field of school personnel administration. These awards can be given to active members or non­members. Please fill out nomination application form and send a current resume of nominee.


The Human Resources Specialist/Support Staff Award is given to an individual whose contributions have had significant impact on the efficiency of the human resources office and to the field of human resources; who has at the local, state/province, national, and/or international level distinguished him/herself through leadership service; and is a collaborative, contributing participant in personnel functions and/or programs. Active AASPA membership is not required. One recipient may be selected annually from each region.


The New Member Award is given to an active member of AASPA who has less than 3 years of experience in the field. This individual has demonstrated involvement at the local, state/province, national, and/or international level though new to the field and has distinguished him/herself in personnel administration through contributions that have had an impact on public education. Must be an active AASPA member and currently serving in a personnel position.

District Awards


2021 Theme: HR Life in a Virtual World: Innovations in HR to Support Learning and District Operations in a Pandemic
The C. S. Robinson Award is open to all current AASPA members. This award recognizes those who demonstrate innovations and leadership in human resources based upon a theme annually determined by the Recognitions Committee. Documentation for each category is required. Please see the end of the nomination form for instructions for submission. Districts may submit applications in any of the four strands of the Human Capital Leaders in Education Standards under this area (i.e. Career Ladders and Succession Planning, Performance Management, Training and Development, or Onboarding)


This award is given In honor of William L. Hunter, who served as Region II Representative – Point of Light Award gives recognition to school districts making outstanding contributions through the implementation of innovative and comprehensive teacher development programs primarily focused upon strategies designed to increase the number of teachers of color in school districts.


The Digital Branding Development Award is given to the school district whose personnel or human resources department has most effectively managed to leverage the power of at least one digital avenue to tell their district's employment story and provide communication to and gather information from current and prospective employees. Nominations must include the addresses to one (or more) of the following: a website, a Twitter handle, Instagram handle, Facebook page, LinkedIn account, etc.


The Newsletter Award is open to all state/province/private organizations which publish a newsletter for their members at least annually. Newsletters are judged on content and layout. Sample newsletters must be submitted for review. Award nominees must have an AASPA member in their organization.

Affiliate Awards


The Arch S. Brown Awards are given on the basis of affiliate activities in these areas: communication with members, legislative leadership/policy influence, member participation and professional development activities (affiliate conferences,  special  projects, cooperative activities) and other contributions. Points are awarded to each entry, and the winning entry is determined on the basis of the highest number of points given. Please fill out nomination application form and submit supplemental information. *Two awards will be given, one for a large affiliate (more than 250 members) and one for a small affiliate (250 members or less).